Marco C. Mendoza, MD




“Throughout my training, the management of spinal disorders captured my attention more than any other field. Having published numerous book chapters and peer-reviewed journal articles, I developed an appreciation of the intricacy and sophistication of the field. I believe spinal surgery is incredibly complex from both a clinical and technical standpoint. Proper patient selection and choice of procedure can be every bit, if not more challenging, than the surgery itself. Because every patient is different, determining who can actually benefit from the vast array of available procedures embodies the art of medicine. I take a conservative approach and have a particular interest in utilizing minimally invasive surgical (MIS) procedures and motion-preserving techniques in patients who have exhausted non-operative treatments. My free time is largely spent with my wife, three children, and two dogs. I enjoy playing basketball, golf, and snowboarding.”

Board-Certified: American Board of Orthopedic Surgery

Fellowship: Spine Surgery, OrthoCarolina Spine Center, Charlotte, NC

Residency: Orthopedic Surgery, Northwestern University McGaw Medical Center, Chicago, IL

Internship: Combined Orthopaedic Surgery, McGaw Medical Center/Northwestern University, Chicago, IL

MD: University of Kentucky College of Medicine, Lexington, KY

Member: American Academy of Orthopedic Surgery, North American Spine Society, Lumbar Spine Research Society, AO Spine

To see what Dr. Mendoza’s patients are saying about him, click here!

Anatomy of the Spine & Spine Health

Spine Basics: https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/diseases–conditions/spine-basics

Low Back Basics: https://orthoinfo.aaos.org/globalassets/pdfs/about-your-back.pdf

Disc Herniation: https://orthoinfo.aaos.org/globalassets/pdfs/herniated-disk.pdf

Keeping Your Back Healthy: https://orthoinfo.aaos.org/en/staying-healthy/?bodyPart=Back

Osteoporosis: https://orthoinfo.aaos.org/en/diseases–conditions/osteoporosis/

Osteoporosis & Spine Fractures: https://orthoinfo.aaos.org/en/diseases–conditions/osteoporosis-and-spinal-fractures/

Neck Problems

Pinched Nerve (Cervical Radiculopathy): https://orthoinfo.aaos.org/en/diseases–conditions/cervical-radiculopathy-pinched-nerve/

Neck Arthritis (Cervical Spondylosis): https://orthoinfo.aaos.org/en/diseases–conditions/cervical-spondylosis-arthritis-of-the-neck/

Spinal Cord Compression (Myelopathy): https://orthoinfo.aaos.org/en/diseases–conditions/cervical-spondylotic-myelopathy-spinal-cord-compression/

Back Problems

Slipped Vertebrae (Spondylolisthesis): https://orthoinfo.aaos.org/en/diseases–conditions/adult-spondylolisthesis-in-the-low-back/

Back Pain in Children: https://orthoinfo.aaos.org/en/diseases–conditions/back-pain-in-children/

Cauda Equina: https://orthoinfo.aaos.org/en/diseases–conditions/cauda-equina-syndrome/

Lumbar Herniated Disc (Disc Bulge): https://orthoinfo.aaos.org/en/diseases–conditions/herniated-disk-in-the-lower-back/

Lumbar Herniated Disc Video: https://orthoinfo.aaos.org/en/diseases–conditions/herniated-disk-animation/

Lumbar Stenosis (Pressure on Nerves): https://orthoinfo.aaos.org/en/diseases–conditions/lumbar-spinal-stenosis/

Lumbar Stenosis Video: https://orthoinfo.aaos.org/en/diseases–conditions/spinal-stenosis-animation/

Pars Fracture (Spondylolysis): https://orthoinfo.aaos.org/en/diseases–conditions/spondylolysis-and-spondylolisthesis/

Treatments & Surgeries

Anterior Lumbar Interbody Fusion (ALIF): https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/treatment/anterior-lumbar-interbody-fusion

Bone Grafts in Spine Surgery: https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/treatment/bone-grafts-in-spine-surgery

Cervical Radiculopathy Treatment Options: https://orthoinfo.aaos.org/en/treatment/cervical-radiculopathy-surgical-treatment-options/

Cervical Myelopathy Treatment Options: https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/treatment/cervical-spondylotic-myelopathysurgical-treatment-options

Lateral Lumbar Interbody Fusion (XLIF): https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/treatment/lateral-lumbar-interbody-fusion

Minimally Invasive Spine Surgery: https://orthoinfo.aaos.org/en/treatment/minimally-invasive-spine-surgery/

Transforaminal Interbody Fusion (TLIF): https://orthoinfo.aaos.org/en/treatment/spinal-fusion-plif-tlif/

Posterolateral Lumbar Fusion: https://orthoinfo.aaos.org/en/treatment/posterolateral-lumbar-fusion/

Preparing for Back Surgery: https://orthoinfo.aaos.org/en/treatment/preparing-for-low-back-surgery/

Spinal Fusion: https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/treatment/spinal-fusion

Words Used During Spine Surgery: https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/treatment/spinal-fusion-glossary

Spine Conditioning Program: https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/recovery/spine-conditioning-program

Microdiscectomy:  https://www.spine-health.com/treatment/back-surgery/microdiscectomy-microdecompression-spine-surgery

Lumbar Laminectomy: https://www.spine-health.com/treatment/back-surgery/lumbar-laminectomy-surgery-spinal-stenosis-open-decompression



9
Nevada Locations
20k+
Satisfied Patients
1966
Founded
10+
Orthopedic Specialists
Select a State

10539 Professional Circle, Suite 201
Reno, NV 89521

(775) 392-3680

973 Mica Drive, Suite 201
Carson City, NV 89705

(775) 392-3680

2874 N. Carson Street, Suite 105
Carson City, NV 89703

(775) 392-3680

1749 North Stewart Street, Suite 50
Carson City, NV 89706

775-392-3689

2874 N. Carson St. Suite 210
Carson City, NV 89703

(775) 392-3680

1520 Virginia Ranch Rd, Suite 101B
Gardnerville, NV 89410

(775) 392-3680

105 C Street
Hawthorne, NV 89415

(775) 392-3680

306 Surprise Street
Yerington, NV 89447

(775) 392-3680

2170 B South Ave
South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150

(775) 392-3680

Patient Reviews

See What Our Patients Have To Say

At Tahoe Fracture & Orthopedic Medical Clinic, we take the time to get to know each patient so that we can develop a customized treatment plan that’s tailored to his or her specific needs, lifestyle, and goals.

I truly wish I could give them more than just 5 stars!

"I couldn’t have asked for better care for my son than from the staff at Tahoe Fracture and Orthopedic. From the receptionist all the way up to the surgeon, we were treated with the utmost respect, kindness, patience, and care. They were not only quick to get him in for an examination, but were amazingly quick to fit him into the schedule to have his injury treated asap!! Thanks to them, my son is now on the road to recovery. I truly wish I could give them more than just five stars!"

Christa D. / Carson City, Nevada
Thanks Doc!

"Dr. Mike Fry is a wonderful doctor and caring person. When I saw him for the first time, he held my hand and said, “I’m going to make you well”, and he did! I had back surgery 2.5 years ago and still doing great. Thanks Doc!"

L.M.
We were deeply impressed with the entire experience.

"We were deeply impressed with the entire experience. Candace should be commended for her work ethic. Also my experience with the x-ray tech was outstanding. I would not change anything."

Dr. Fry and the entire staff were excellent.

"My entire experience was just as good as I had planned…a great day! Dr. Fry and the entire staff were excellent. Thanks a lot!"

I cannot express how much of a difference this has made in my life.

"Dr. Jones and his staff through the surgical procedures and other methods they have performed over the years have enhanced my daily living experience dramatically. I am leading a more productive life without the daily pain I dealt with in the past. I cannot express how much of a difference this has made in my life."